Follow

Schedule a Secure Meeting

Default Security Settings

To help UCLA Extension instructors manage Zoom security concerns, UCLA has automatically enabled the following settings by default for all Zoom meetings scheduled through Canvas. 

  • Meeting Password - a password will be generated for you to prevent unauthorized access to your meeting. You can change the password, but we recommend that you keep it numeric. For convenience, students can simply click on the link in the email invitation and will not need to enter the password to join the meeting.
  • Waiting Room - to allow participants to wait in a room until you open and admit participants into the main meeting room.

We ask that you maintain both settings when you schedule your Zoom meeting.  

mceclip0.png

 

Additional Security Settings

Additional settings are also recommended to protect the security and safety of you and your students. 

To enable these additional settings when scheduling a meeting: 

  1. Go to your Canvas course.
  2. Click “Zoom” in your course navigation menu.
  3. We urge you not to use your Personal Meeting Room for class meetings. Instead, click the blue “Schedule a New Meeting” button in the top-right corner.

Capture.jpg

  1. Set your Zoom meeting preferences following the guidelines below. 

Picture2.jpg

Pay particular attention to letters I and J above to ensure you have the right security settings in place for your meeting.  

I. Meeting Options     

  • “Require Meeting Password” – Enabled by default. 
  • “Mute Participants Upon Entry” – To remove background noise upon entry. Individuals can unmute themselves at any point during the meeting.
  • “Enable Waiting Room” – Enabled by default. 

J. Alternative Hosts – Do NOT use this option unless you have a co-instructor enrolled in your Canvas course. You can enter their Canvas email here, which will allow them to co-host the meeting. 

  1. Click the blue “Save” button.

Zoombombing

If you are in the middle of a Zoombombing, this is the fastest way to intervene:

  • Suspend Participant Activities - Press the Security button and click on “Suspend Participant Activities.” This feature is available to Hosts and Co-Hosts.
  • Upon activation, all user video, user audio, in-meeting chat, screen sharing, annotation, and profile images will stop. 
  • This gives the Host or Co-Host an opportunity to Report and Remove any offenders. 
  • When ready, the Host or Co-Host can unmute their own audio and video to continue the meeting.
There are 7 types of Zoombombing. Here are the individual ways to recover and the preventive steps you can take to avoid Zoombombing: 
  1.  Audio interruptions - unmuting and speaking during the meeting
    - Individual: Press Participants, locate a specific individual, press Mute.
    - Preventative: Press Participants, then Mute All. On the pop-up, uncheck “Allow participants to unmute themselves.”

  2. Video interruptions - displaying inappropriate video or gestures in a live or virtual background 
    - Individual: Press Participants, locate a specific individual, press Stop Video.
    - Preventative: Under the “More” menu, enable “Focus Mode” to Spotlight all speakers while hiding all Profile photos and video from other participants. Only the Hosts and Co-Host can see all participant videos.

  3. Chat interruptions - typing something inappropriate or using private chat to harass other students
    - Individual: There is no option to delete individual chat messages. Follow the steps below to redirect all chat messages to Host and Co-Host.
    - Preventative: Press Chat then the menu (…) on bottom right to manage Chat settings. Activate the setting “Participants can chat with: Hosts and Co-Hosts.”

  4. Screen share interruptions - sharing inappropriate content with all attendees
    - Individual: Press the Security button and under “Allow Participants to” uncheck the box next to “Share Screen.”
    - Preventative: The default is to only allow the host to share. If a non-Host needs to share screen, temporarily make them a Co-Host then remove the privilege when done sharing.

  5. Annotation interruptions - drawing something inappropriate on the screen during a screen share (this feature is disabled by default)
    - Individual: If annotations are enabled during a screen share, under the Security button, uncheck “Annotate on Shared Content.”
    - Preventative: Before your next meeting, visit UCLA Zoom page, click Sign In, go to Settings, Under “Annotation,” after enabling, check the option “Only the user who is sharing can annotate.”

  6. Profile Photo interruptions - displaying an inappropriate profile photo
    - Preventative: Under Security, check the option to “Hide Profile Photos.” Profile photos will be replaced with the name.

  7. Remote Control interruptions - meeting participants can request remote control of another participant's screen.
    - Preventative: Before your next meeting, visit UCLA Zoom page, click Sign In, go to Settings, disable “Remote Control.” Note: unless there is a specific need for this feature, it should be disabled for all meetings.

Related Articles

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.